Happy Thanksgivng

I had a great Thanksgiving with my wife’s family. Besides eating too much we hacked a trail through the thick underbrush of an Alabama forest. Lots of fun & hard work.

BTW fried turkey is the best!

I’m thankful for so much really. Family, friends, my wife & kids, a great place to live, a job that is very fulfilling & faith in Jesus. Of course the list could go on – health, technology, good music, etc. but to keep a thankful heat is sometimes a challenge. I think a key is to remember that what I take for granted, many do not even have. I’m so blessed & today I’m thankful. God help me be more thankful 365 days of the year.

Here are some facts about Thanksgiving :

280 million turkeys sold in the U.S. for Thanksgiving celebration.

13.1 pounds of turkeys consumed by the typical American, with a large part of that done at Thanksgiving time.

272 million turkeys’ give or take a few were raised in U.S. in 2007.

1.6 billion pounds of sweet potatoes produced in 2006.

690 million pounds of U.S. cranberry produced in 2007.

99 cents cost per pound of a frozen turkey in December 2006

1 billion pounds of pumpkin produced in 2006.

~ by genelking on November 27, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
