The “One-Upper”

Last week I was in Orlando for a conference. The evening before the conference we stopped in at a Christian bookstore to get a book my wife had been waiting for. The guy behind me in the checkout line started talking and asking about my work – pastoring, my church – small church in lower AL and then he proceeded to tell me about his job – evangelism pastor. Then as as I completed the transaction and started to walk away he ended the conversation telling me about his church. He told me the name of the church and then said, “Yeah, we have about a thousand in attendance every weekend so…” He actually said “so” at the end of the conversation. I walked away realizing that I had just been “one-upped.” All I can say is that he provided me and my cohorts with a lot of laughs – so thanks Pastor One-Upper.

Do you know people who do this?

This reminded me of a SNL sketch about the “One-Upper.” Funny stuff.

Vodpod videos no longer available.
from www.dailymotion.com posted with vodpod

WHOOPS!!! My bad.

~ by genelking on February 10, 2008.

One Response to “The “One-Upper””

  1. Well–I ran 12 miles on Saturday so . . .

Leave a Reply

 
